History #14 – mid-January 02 – second hospitalization – first few days

February 14, 2007 at 6:11 am | Posted in chemo side effects, Diagnosis and treatment history, My initial treatment -- induction, Rene McGillicuddy, Terry Timmons | 1 Comment

Much of this second hospitalization, in mid-January 2002, is a blur to me, for reasons that will become more apparent later. But there are several events that I do recall. Oh boy, do I recall them.

I do recall that during those first few days I was fighting infections, getting IV antibiotics, still having trouble with both ends of my digestive tract, etc. I don’t recall the first few days in the hospital being that different than being at home, physically.

Another thing I recall was Rene McGillicuddy coming in. Rene is the current running buddy of mine, but at that time neither of us were involved in those activities. Rene is also a fellow consultant for AIG with me, not part of the Healthcare group, but she and I had developed an acquaintance from work events, finding out we were both from middle-of-nowhere Texas.

She came to visit me during the beginning of that admission during one of her hospital outpatient visits for her breast cancer treatment. She was in remission at the time and was on one of her follow up appointments. What struck me at that time and what I remember was this was one of the first instances of a survivor of one of these life-threatening major illnesses that I had met, and spent time with. Even though it was a different type of cancer, hearing her going on with her life in spite of what she had gone through was very, very inspiring for me. Funny, Rene still gently pushes me to expand the way I view myself and what I can do and endure, by encouraging me to run.

During this time I also recall my brother Terry being there, and staying with me overnight in the hospital several times. Terry was at the time a very busy superintendent of schools in a small town in Central Texas (Abbott, Texas), and school had started up for the year. But he came out for me. I still am touched by this.

Terry was three years older than me, and growing up we had the same bedroom for several years. We fought and did the stuff brothers did, but I also remember him looking out for me, as a big brother does. Good to think he was still doing that all these years later.

I always felt bad that Terry never spent any time in the Bay Area and saw anything other than our condo and the hospital. And I was glad to be able to replace the Stanford baseball cap that he bought when he was at the hospital after he lost it at Six Flags. I’m really proud he was there.

After he left, I recall taking a turn for the worse.

 

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Thanks for information.
    many interesting things
    Celpjefscylc


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

