People who supported me #5 — AIG collegues

February 8, 2007 at 8:00 am | Posted in AIG, Those who supported me during my recovery | 1 Comment

One of the most important groups of people who supported me were my AIG collegues and friends, both in San Francisco and around the country.

I’ve already talked about how important my job was to me, and as I discovered a big part of why it’s important is the people. No one from AIG was able to come to visit, and to be honest being in semi-isolation and not feeling well having visitors from the SF office was not something that would have been good, anyway.

But I got so many cards and emails from all over the country. Like I said, I called Emily first after family when diagnosed. I know Emily had been in contact via email with both those around the country and in SF. And as soon as I had been able to email, I sent messages to all work and family to keep everybody updated.

I have a box in which I keep the get-well cards I got. I gotta say, there must be several hundred in there. Sam would bring in grocery sacks filled with cards that had come in the mail. Everybody in AIG Consultants at that time had sent a card. Most were funny; some were spiritual; some people sent numerous cards, seemingly one each day.

The people in the SF AIG offices didn’t send as many cards, but almost everyone sent emails. They would provide support, but in several cases, they’d talk about what was going on in the office — as if they were just wanting to keep me up to date on news. It was great — made me feel normal in a very abnormal time…..

You’ll never know how much all those cards and emails helped. It really made a huge difference in my outlook. I’ll never be able to express the gratitude I have for the outpouring of support those cards and emails represented.

I can’t name you all individually, but you know who you are.

aig-stone-mtn-2002-last-supper-group-pic-2.JPG

Here’s a picture of the AIG Consultants for healthcare nationwide from the summer of 2002 at our staff meeting in Georgia. The folks who showed that support are around the table. (I call it the “Last Supper” picture, with the then-head of Healthcare consulting at the head of the table.)

aig-stone-mtn-2002-outdoor-group-pic-2.JPG

And another pic from Stone Mountain. (Boy was it hot that day….)

While I don’t have pictures of the claims people in the SF offices who provided so much support, here are more pics from the Christmas party with the UW side of the office from December 2001.

aig-sf-xmas-pty-mark-marcia-me-12-20-01.JPG
aig-sf-xmas-pty-deb-marcia-me-12-20-01.JPG

aig-sf-xmas-pty-deb-smooching-me-12-20-01.JPG

See, I was loved.

1 Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Have you ever thought about including a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. However think
    about if you added some great images or videos to give your posts more,
    “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and
    videos, this site could undeniably be one of the greatest in its niche.
    Fantastic blog!


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

