History #7 – Diagnosis – December 23, 2001 – good news but more biopsies

January 30, 2007 at 5:54 am | Posted in APML, Diagnosis and treatment history, My initial treatment -- induction, Stanford Hospital | Leave a comment

Around the time of the second attempt, the attending hematologist, Beth Martin, a very bright young blond woman, came back in. She had the results of the initial blood test. Now came the time I found out what was to happen with my life, or how much I had left.

You may recall in the previous posts, the night before, when I was first told about my diagnosis without knowing the prognosis, I was lost, despondent, and out of hope. Fortunately by not being a morning person, by this time all those emotions weren’t really registering. Add to that the experiences of the failed bone marrow biopsy attempts, and thoughts of prognosis and outcomes weren’t as foremost in my mind.

But now Dr. Martin came back in to tell me what had been found. And she was happy.

While it might seem odd to be upbeat in telling someone they have leukemia, Dr. Martin told me that morning that I have the kind of leukemia that they hope people have. She said there was a treatment for the subtype I have (APML) which makes this subtype much more survivable than other types of similar types of mylogenous leukemia.

She said that for six weeks I would be treated in a phase called “induction.” In that, I would have chemotherapy to kill the bone marrow, and take a pill, called all-trans retinoic acid, or ATRA. ATRA had been found to help healthy bone marrow grow back after the chemotherapy had done its job.

Specifically with regards to prognosis, she said that if I could make it through the next six weeks of induction, I would have an 80% chance of making it to 5 years disease free. The reason why the 20% figure was discussed was, mostly because of side effects of ATRA. For some reason certain patients would have a reaction in the first few days of taking it. A few others, usually older patients, have difficulty surviving the initial chemotherapy, which could be pretty harsh.

If I made it through the upcoming six weeks of induction and went into remission, then I would go into the next phase of treatment, called consolidation, where less strong chemotherapy will be provided for four courses through April. Then I should go into complete remission. If this all progressed without relapse, then I could likely resume a normal life by the summer.

Terrific news. But in the context of that moment it likely didn’t register like it should have. I did have to have a painful bone marrow biopsy, after all. And I did have to go through those six weeks of treatment.

But, little did I know that I was saved through many trials and tribulations that other blood cancer patients have to go through. While there was the possibility of relapse, the chances were good. And if I were to relapse, or have a reaction to the ATRA, then there was yet another experimental treatment that could be done before a bone marrow transplant. And for those of you who don’t know, bone marrow transplants are a much detailed and dangerous procedure, with the need for weeks of strict isolation. Basically, I didn’t know how good I had it.

I didn’t know, because not long after, Dr. Martin and the Fellow came in to yet again attempt the bone marrow transplant. To make a long story shorter (that I don’t remember that well anyway), the had to try three more times before they were able to aspirate bone marrow on the fifth try. Each time they had to give me stronger medication to ease the pain ahead of time (Demerol injections, etc.) and each time it was too painful to continue. The final time they had to put me in the hospital (which was to occur anyway, since treatment would start immediately) and give me IV morphine by drip to do the biopsy in a sedated state.

The last time was nice. I didn’t remember that one.

And it wouldn’t be that last time in my months of recovery that a morphine IV drip was used or enjoyed.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

