Why I run #2 — How I got into this, part 2 — It’s all Rene’s fault

January 27, 2007 at 10:14 pm | Posted in AIG, My current training, Reasons why I run, Rene McGillicuddy | Leave a comment

More on the history of how I talked myself, or rather, let myself be talked, into running a marathon….

After finishing treatment in the summer of 2001, I was still on low dose chemotherapy and was still tired, roughly at about 75% of normal. I began volunteering for a Team in Training program, but as an honored patient, not as a participant.

I’ve thought of running a marathon with TNT for several seasons in the past couple of years as I got back to 100% health. I had really considered, told a few people, made a few plans. But I never could do it. I never thought I could finish it, with my travel commitments for work (I still have the same position, now as a manager, but with similar travel). Plus, I never thought I could finish mentally. What was holding me back was more a bit of confidence that I could complete it. Now, I have seen people of all shapes, sizes and abilities train over the years in TNT programs, and almost all finished their marathon. But that was others, not me. Yet another irony — some people when they go through a terrible life-threatening disease have a new appreciation for life, and attempt all sorts of things they never attempted before. For me, though, it didn’t work out that way.

I have other posts which go into detail about the reasons why I’m doing a marathon, from the perspective of the 5th year anniversary, the people I admire, and the need to raise funds. But from a purely athletic perspective, the reason I know I can do this now is a co-worker at AIG, Rene McGillicuddy.

tnt-training-sf-running-marina-1-24-07-005.jpg
Rene is another consultant from another division in AIG who I’ve known for years. She also has faced a similar health challenge that she’s overcome. After, she began running triathlons, having completed a few sprint distance triathlons. We were talking about her athletic experiences, and I mentioned my desire to eventually train and finish a marathon. She immediately told me I could, and encouraged me. Not just verbal — she has begun running with me after work, pushing me to run farther. Our runs on Marina Green towards the Golden Gate Bridge on afternoons are a great treat.

tnt-training-sf-running-marina-1-24-07-008.jpg
Since we began running last fall, I have gone from just being able to run a few minutes without stopping, to, as of last Saturday, January 20, I ran five miles. I have never run five miles in my life, but it seemed easy, the right thing to do. In a casual conversation recently Rene, without thinking about it, said “Gregg, you’re pretty athletic, and ….” I don’t recall the remainder of the sentence or the point. But I was honored to think someone would consider me something of an “athlete.” But that’s what you call someone who runs five miles, right?

tnt-training-sf-running-marina-1-24-07-009.jpg

I have thoroughly enjoyed running with Rene, and now feel fantastic when I run, just incredible. I now know that finishing a marathon is quite doable, and it will be done, even if at my own slow pace. There will be lots of people who will help me finish the marathon, but I can say that it was Rene who first got me to really understand I can run, and got me to understand the fantastic way you feel when you run.

tnt-training-sf-running-marina-1-24-07-010.jpg

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

