History #1 – Diagnosis – December 10 – vancouver – where did that bruise come from?

January 22, 2007 at 5:31 am | Posted in Initial diagnosis of APML, Sam Cantin, symptoms of APML | Leave a comment

Prior to December 2001 I was in generally good health. On the second weekend in December, my former partner Sam and I were on vacation in Vancouver, CA. I recall being in the hotel room and finding a bruise on my arm, one of those moments where you go, “Hmmm, I don’t remember hitting myself there.” I think I found a second one on my torso before the weekend was over.

Also during the weekend, at one point we were walking up a steep hill to go to a restaurant. If you’ve ever been to Vancouver, you may recall that the city is on hills from the water’s edge going to the main part of town. About half way up the hill, I had to stop. I was severely out of breath. Now, I wasn’t in the best shape — if you’ve known me, you’ll know that most of my life I’ve had a few pounds on me more than I should, at times more than others. But this time the shortness of breath was much much worse. I was not just winded, I was gasping for air. I did make it up the hill, but avoided them for awhile.
A prudent fellow might have thought “time to go to the doctor.” But I was traveling a lot for work at the time, and had a couple more large important trips to take before the holidays got into full gear. So, like a lot of people faced with something like this, I put it off.

If you’ve read the tab above to go to the “About APML” page, you’ll see I was already having two of the big symptoms of APML. But finding that out was still a few days and symptoms away.

Leave a Comment »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

